Basic Skills‎ > ‎

Permissions

Warning!
A new site is public on the web by default
when created with a consumer Google account, so anyone can find and view the site. 

Permissions enable you to control who can:
  • View your site, and
  • Edit your site. 
Permissions for Sites function similarly to permissions for other Google services such as Google Drive.
  • Global settings - for public, or organization-wide access. 
  • Specific permissions - granted to individuals or groups. 

Permission Levels

When granting permissions to specific parties, there are three levels:
  • View - to see page contents
  • Edit - edit site pages - edit page contents, and add, delete and rearrange pages.  More info at: Editor Tasks.
  • Owner - the highest permission level.  (more info at: Owner Tasks) Tasks which may only be performed by owners include:
    • Change Site Layout (alter menus, sidebar, header...)
    • Change Site Style - Themes, colors, fonts
    • Change Sharing Permissions
    • Copy and Delete a site, and other 'Manage Site' tasks

Under Construction Sign imageRestrict Viewing

You may want to make a site private for one of these reasons:
  • During development, then make public at launch.
  • Intranet / team sites are completely private, or most pages are private.
  • Personal private use

Page-level Permissions

By default permissions apply to the entire site. However an advanced feature, 'Page-level Permissions' allows you to set permissions on a page-by-page basis.

This advanced capability can be quite useful:
  • Selective Visibility - When allowing part of a site to be publicly visible, while other sections are privately restricted to particular groups.  Note: Page-level permissions are utilized in the Team Collaboration 'Demo' example site. 
  • Selective Editing - When granting editing permissions to a person so they may only edit specific pages on the site.
This is an advanced topic.

Google Apps Note

A Site created within a Google Apps business environment by default will typically be private to the organization (according to your system administrator's settings). 

Learn More

Visit:  TBD